You will shop, even if you hate shopping

by ak

Felix. So hip it hurts. For boys.

Felix. So hip it hurts. For boys.

I was lucky enough to take a trip to the beautiful Buenos Aires earlier this year.

Reclaimed timber display

Reclaimed timber display

Displays made from piping and re-inforcing rods

Displays from piping and re-inforcing rods

Wire construction mesh over dowlights = Wire construction mesh wallpaper

Wire construction mesh over dowlights = Wire construction mesh wallpaper

more re-enforcing rods

more re-enforcing rods

Before the trip, I was regularly told that I would ‘love the shopping’. Now, I need to clarify something.And I know it’s going to sound pretty weird.

I hate shopping. I don’t shop, I buy. There is, admittedly an ill-fated, difference. And to the detriment of all sales assistants, I am more interested in their shopfitting joinery, than in their clothing.

Writing up my post on Tiaan Nagel’s shop, made me realise that i needed to post some of these pictures! As i mentioned in that blog, the BA trip was nothing short of a sensory overload. Like falling down a southern-hemisphere-rabbit hole. Where the queen of hearts speaks spanish. And Alice is not too terrified by the whole thing. In fact, she embraces it!

The curious thing about ‘shopping’ in Buenos Aires is that despite the spaces being super stylish, and detailed to the max, they did not feel foreign or cold. I think this is largely due to the integration of some sort of recycled or human elements into the designs. A ‘non intimidation’ approach… To have a clever concept, without making people using the space looking alien in it. So within every highly detailed space, there were elements that appealed to your curious or tactile side- within every high gloss minimalist box, there was a reclaimed timber counter. And strangely, these ‘human’ elements allowed the sales assistants/cashiers to look a little less like blood sucking aliens. Or mental patients.

I will definitely be going back. And i will even shop.