Dutch Landscapes…

by ak

Tulbach View

The wheatfields in Tulbagh

I have been travelling like a mini sandstorm through this country over the last couple of weeks. But I will regale you about each of my trips.

I recently returned from an incredible trip to Tulbach – for some dear friends wedding. We took the long route from Cape Town International – and manage to stumble our way into Riebeeck’s Kasteel.

Cafe Felix Courtyard

Cafe Felix Courtyard

Felix of the Cafe

Felix of the Cafe

iPhone

Comparing iPhone apps

Vermeer's Milkmaid

Vermeer's Milkmaid

Cafe Felix – Tick. Simple but tasty food, in a rustic gravel courtyard overlooking the surrounding mountains. And they really have a cat called Felix. Who in a very un-cat-like fashion cosies himself up to your feet.

Have I mentioned that Cape Town is another Happy Place? All of it. Anyway – I couldn’t help but notice the ‘dutch’ (17thC Vermeer to be more precise) quality of light – but also of the colour composition of the landscape. The only difference, of course, is that we were not baking bread like Vermeer’s study, but comparing iPhone apps. To no end. I should blog about the highs and lows of iPhone obsessions sometime…